Gatehouse Snooker Club

10th AGM: 21st January 2020

Community centre at 7.30 p.m.

<u>Minutes</u>

Present: John Morton, Richard Glass, Stuart Jamieson, Alistair Richardson, Nick Morris, Keith Hamblin, Bill Blackley, Douglas McDavid, Graham Wright, Ian Carson. Apologies: Pete Haslam, Mark Laird, Colin Thorne.

The meeting was opened by Douglas McDavid, who welcomed the fact that so many members were in attendance.

<u>The minutes</u> of the 9th AGM held on 15th February 2019 were approved.

<u>Review of the year.</u> Douglas believed that the club had again had a successful year. He expressed his thanks to Graham for all his efforts in organising the competitions and for the time spent arranging for the renovation work to the snooker room.

Alistair Richardson is continuing as Treasurer and Ian Carson as Minute Secretary. The competition versus Kirkcudbright was again a great day. Gatehouse was 10-9 up going into the last frame. Sadly, this game was lost, resulting in a tie. Kirkcudbright retained the trophy on account of being holders. The match for this year is already scheduled for the 6th December 2021. Membership fell by a total of 4 last year. Sadly, Dennis Coombs and Ian Pringle both passed away. They will be sorely missed. Income from the meter did show that the table was being well used. Thanks were expressed to Pete Haslam for looking after the table, and to Stuart Jamieson for re-tipping the club cues. 2020 membership is to stay at £50.00 and the meter charges to remain unchanged. Membership fees are due now. Nick Morris has still to be paid for the booking system.

<u>Accounts.</u> Alistair has included the capital value of the table in the accounts, which explains the increase in the net asset value from £4,880.00 (2018) to £14,354.00 (2019). There was a one off cost last year as a result of maintenance work to the snooker room. It was mentioned that the cost of resurfacing the table would be around £1,300.00, but it was agreed that this wasn't necessary at the minute. Stuart said that the table would last for many years to come (minimum 50 years). Electricity costs were up, most likely caused by the low wattage heaters under the table. It was agreed that in general the financial status of the club was healthy.

On line booking. Again, it was noted how well this was working. A suggestion to have names included on the on line booking system was rejected.

Competitions 2019 see attached

Election of Officers

Chairman: Douglas McDavid. Proposed seconded and agreed Membership Secretary: Graham Wright. Proposed seconded and agreed Treasurer: Alistair Richardson. Proposed seconded and agreed Minute Secretary : Ian Carson. Proposed seconded and agreed

A.O.B. No issues raised

Next AGM. Date agreed for 19th January 201 7.00 p.m.