Page last updated on: Sunday, 9 April, 2023.
Back to Other Groups
The Town Council
The Predecessor of The Community Council

The earliest known Gatehouse Provost was Alexander Birtwhistle of Dundeuch who took up his post in 1797. His tenure was short-lived, however, and he was replaced later the same year by James Davitts.

1972 : Gatehouse Town Council
Back Row : J K Welsh, Town Clerk, JWP Blenkin, WAD Murphie, Burgh Surveyor.
Middle Row : ex Provost Colin Jardine, William Mackay, Treasurer, James Kerr, Dean of Guild, James Campbell
Front Row : Bailie Peter McGlashan, Provost Bert McMurray, Bailie Alexandra Wolffe
1975 (15th May) : Gatehouse Town Council
Standing : WAD Murphie (Burgh Surveyor),  Councillor W Hannay,  Councillor Mrs JE Fergusson,
Mr JK Welsh (Town Clerk),  Councillor CD Jardine,  Mr AC Wolffe (Burgh Surveyor)
Seated : Councillor J Campbell,  Bailie JVN Jameson, Provost W Mackay,  Bailie Mrs AL Wolffe, 
Dean of Guild L McClymont




Elizabeth Murray Usher being presented by the Freedom of the Burgh by George McMurray.

William Mackay provost from ---- to ----.

Members of the Town Council inspecting the new sewage works.
Provost Alexandra Wolffe just after breaking ground for the bypass which was officially opened in 1986.